This is not a new year’s resolution

Wasn’t it about four months ago that I announced Keos 2.0 and vowed to keep it up this time around? Well, that lasted for all of five posts, and then I lost the will to blog again. Now you may laugh in disbelief at me saying that I’m back again and that I mean it this time, but I’m back again and I mean it this time. And I’ve got a solid plan of attack to make this work:

whatmakesyouhappy_web_1024x1024
Image source: Lily & Val

Doing more of what makes me happy. Now, this is, as the title states, not a new year’s resolution. I don’t do new year’s resolutions, because I simply don’t see the point in waiting for a new year to come around to make good ideas happen (impulsive much?). My deciding to take up blogging more regularly just so happened to coincide with the turn of the year. That being said, I’d like to explain what is going to make a difference this time, and that is, shortly put, that I am no longer going to force myself to blog. This may sound contradictory to my goal of blogging more, but I feel like forcing myself was the biggest mistake I made in all my previous blogging endeavours.

Previously, I had a clear goal of what I wanted to blog about, of what niche I wanted to belong to. My blog started out with the intention of documenting gluten-free recipes I thought up, but I find myself spending less and less time in the kitchen cooking and more time being creative in other ways. In retrospect, my heart is not fully in running a cooking blog, and I realized this a while ago, but I did not dare to change things up. Stick with it, I thought, and that was what my last attempt was. And we all saw how long that lasted…

What’s different now is that I decided that I am only going to blog when I feel like it, about what I feel like blogging about, and in English, even though I announced a few posts back that my posts were going to be in both English and Dutch from there on out. Sorry jongens, maar dat gaat veranderen. So no more pressuring myself to keep to self-composed rigid schedules or to think up recipes when all I really want to do is to sit in my pajamas and knit or bind a book. That’s what it’s going to be from now on, because I really want to make this blog an online place for me that I’m constantly itching to go back to. I’m going to do more of what makes me happy.

Pretty good for a non-new year’s resolution, huh? (But speaking of new year’s resolutions, do you have any, and if so: what? Leave me a comment; I’d love to hear!)

I wish you all a lovely, creativity-filled and all-round awesome 2016, and I hope you stick around to see what Wonderland is about to become!

Leave a Reply

