Shoplog: craftstore haul & el cheapo yarn

… and zippers, lots of zippers. But more on that later. So, I recently started watching knitting podcasts on Youtube. I don’t know how I didn’t come across these earlier, because there are a lot of them out there, and let me tell you, they are a joy to watch. I’m addicted! Being someone that keeps my knitting projects in baskets or cardboard boxes to carry around the house, I watched with envy as knitter after knitter showed the cutest project bags to store theirs in. I knew I wanted some as well, so I went out to buy some supplies. Of course I returned with more than I planned to, but all crafters will probably recognize this. Here’s what I brought home with me today!

… en ritsen, heel veel risten, maar daarover later meer. Laatst begon ik brei-podcasts op Youtube te kijken. Ik weet niet hoe het kan dat ik die niet eerder ben tegengekomen, want er zijn er een boel, en ik kan je zeggen: ze zijn heerlijk om naar te kijken. Ik ben verslaafd! Als iemand die mijn breiprojecten door het huis sjouwt in mandjes en kartonnen dozen keek ik jaloers hoe breister na breister die de meest schattige tasjes liet zien waar ze hun projecten in bewaren. Ik wist dat ik er ook wat van wilde hebben, dus ging ik op pad om daar wat spullen voor te kopen. Natuurlijk kwam ik thuis met meer dan ik had gepland, maar dat herkennen andere handwerksters vast wel. Hier is wat ik vandaag mee naar huis nam!

wpid-img_20150902_142814-01.jpeg

First stop: the sewing supply store. I bought some fusible interfacing, a zipper, some colored Gütermann thread to sew with, and a spring tape measure for my knitting projects. I had to exercise some great restraint to not buy more, because it’s a crafter’s candy store in there!

Eerste stop: de naaiwinkel. Ik kocht wat vlieseline, een rits, wat gekleurd Gütermann naaigaren en een oprolbaar meetlint voor mijn breiprojecten. Ik moest me enorm inhouden om niet meer te kopen, want het is daar een snoepwinkel voor handwerksters!

wpid-img_20150902_142638-01.jpeg

After that, I went to Lidl (a European discount supermarket), to pick up some sock yarn. I do have some sock yarn already (Mansos del Urugray Alegría), but that is my good (and expensive!) stuff, and because I have never knit socks before, I don’t want to waste it on an experiment. So, these sets of sock yarn seem like a great option to learn how to knit socks with. The nice thing is that this yarn is 75% superwash wool and 25% polyamid, which is pretty decent for €6 for 4 skeins! I also bought some yarn to knit hats with. I think I might do some mixing and matching of colors between the three sets that I got. This yarn is way more synthetic (70% polyacrylic, 30 % wool), which I generally don’t like, but the colors won me over. The copper one even has reflecting threads wound around it. I don’t know if I like that yet, but because I plan to pick up running again, that might be useful in a hat for when I go for a run in the dark. Plus this was only €5 for a set of 3 skeins, so I couldn’t pass it up.

Daarna ging in naar de Lidl om sokkenwol te kopen. Ik heb al wel wat sokkenwol (Manos del Uruguay Alegría), maar dat is mijn goede (en dúre!) spul, en omdat ik nog nooit sokken heb gebreid wilde ik dat garen niet verspillen aan een experiment. Deze setjes sokkenwol van de Lidl lijken me een prima optie om het mee te leren. Het mooie is dat dit garen 75% superwash wol is en 25% polyamide, wat ik heel aardig vind voor een prijs van €6 per 4 bollen! Ik kocht ook wat wol om mutsen mee te breien. Waarschijnlijk ga ik de kleuren wat mixen tussen de verschillende sets die ik kocht. Dit garen is veel synthetischer (70% polyacryl, 30% wol), wat ik normaal niet gauw zou kopen, maar ik heb me laten overhalen door de kleuren. De koperkleurige bol heeft zelfs een reflecterende draad er bij in. Ik weet nog niet of ik dat mooi vind, maar aangezien ik weer wil gaan hardlopen is dat misschien wel handig voor in een hardloopmuts. Bovendien kostte dit garen maar vijf euro voor een set van 3 bollen wol, dus ik kon het niet laten liggen.

wpid-img_20150902_142917-01.jpeg

To finish off my trip, I swung by a nice little thriftstore nearby, and I bought a bucketload of zippers for next to no money at all. They had baskets with various lengths of zippers for fifty cents or one euro a piece, which are great prices – especially considering that I paid €3,90 for the yellow zipper at the sewing supply store. Of course there may be a quality difference here, but because I don’t plan to use them for ultra heavy duty purposes, I bought a lot of them. Cute story: last week, we rehomed an adorable handknit cat that we found in this thriftstore. Little Miss Smiley now keeps calling it Poes (Dutch for ‘cat’). How cute is that?

Om de trip af te sluiten ging ik nog even langs bij een leuk klein kringloopwinkeltje vlakbij, waar ik een heleboel ritsen kocht voor bijna geen geld. Ze hadden manden staan met verschillende lengtes ritsen voor vijftig cent of een euro per stuk, wat natuurlijk prachtige prijzen zijn, zeker als je bedenkt dat ik bij de naaiwinkel €3,90 kwijt was voor die ene gele rits. Natuurlijk zou het kunnen dat er een verschil in kwaliteit in zit, maar omdat ik toch niet van plan ben de ritsen exteem zwaar te belasten kocht ik er een hoop. Schattig verhaal: vorige week adopteerden we een schattige handgebreide kat uit deze zelfde kringloop. Lief Lachebekje doopte ‘m meteen ‘Poes’. Hoe lief is dat?

More on the project bags I’m going to sew soon. But for now I’m curious what unplanned things you come home with when you go out shopping? Tell me in the comments!

Binnenkort meer over de breitassen die ik ga maken. Maar voor nu ben ik benieuwd met wat voor ongeplande aankopen jij thuiskomt als je gaat winkelen. Laat het me weten in een reactie!

Leave a Reply

